Front Desk Finds

Prices checked October 15, 2026 · Written by Front Desk Finds

How much does an answering service cost?

For a small business, a live answering service typically costs a few hundred dollars a month, an AI receptionist often costs under a hundred, and the gap comes down to who picks up the phone.

Read this first. We have not used these products hands-on. Figures below come from each vendor's own public pricing page on October 15, 2026 and may change. Vendors price by minutes, calls or seats, so the plans are not directly comparable; the worked example near the end puts them on one footing. Always confirm current prices with the vendor before you sign up.

Quick summary

Live answering services

These services route your calls to trained receptionists who answer in your business name, take messages, book appointments and transfer urgent calls.

Ruby: priced by receptionist minutes
PlanPrice per month
50 minutes$250
100 minutes$395
200 minutes$720
500 minutes$1,725

Ruby says its plans include the same features at every level and that it charges no activation, onboarding or setup fees. The pricing page lists only the four plans above; it does not state what happens when you go over your minutes, so ask Ruby before you rely on a smaller plan.

Smith.ai: priced by calls
PlanPrice per monthOverage per extra call
30 calls$300$11.50
90 calls$810$10.50
300 calls$2,100$8.50

Smith.ai also charges per call for add-ons, for example $1.50 to book an appointment, $0.50 for an SMS or Slack notification, $0.25 for call recording and transcription, and $1.00 to accept a payment. A few extras are monthly: $10 for business caller ID on outbound calls, $15 for each additional transfer destination, and $5 for each inbound call-tracking number. Smith.ai says its plans are month to month, with a 30-day money-back guarantee that does not cover overage charges.

AI receptionists and phone systems

These tools are business phone systems with an AI agent that can answer calls. The AI is usually billed separately from the phone line, and an AI agent is not the same as a trained human receptionist.

Quo (formerly OpenPhone): priced per user
PlanMonthly billingBilled yearly
Starter$28$19
Business$39$27
Scale$48$36

All prices are per user per month. Quo's Sona AI agent is included on every plan, with 1,000 free automation credits a month. Quo's page says one call equals 100 credits, so the free credits cover about 10 AI-handled calls. More credits cost extra: $25 a month for 4,000 credits (about 40 calls), $49 for 10,000 (about 100 calls), $99 for 25,000, and $199 for 60,000. Quo offers a 7-day free trial. Texting requires a one-time $19.50 carrier registration fee plus $1.50 to $3 a month, and extra phone numbers cost $5 a month each.

Allo: priced per seat
PlanMonthly billingBilled yearly
Solo (waitlist)$15$10
Business$45$32
Ultra$120$100

All prices are per seat per month. Allo's AI Receptionist is an add-on at $32 a month per agent, billed yearly. Allo's page does not state a limit on calls or minutes for the AI Receptionist, so ask before relying on it. Allo says it has no setup fees or contracts and offers a 7-day free trial. Texting needs a $24 one-time registration, and Allo notes that its pricing is early and can still change.

What drives the bill

Worked example: 40 calls a month, about 3 minutes each

That is about 120 minutes of calls. These are estimates from the public prices above and assume one user and no add-ons unless noted.

ServiceHow we got thereAbout per month
Smith.ai30-call plan ($300) plus 10 extra calls at $11.50$415
Ruby120 minutes is over the 100-minute plan ($395), so the 200-minute plan applies unless Ruby quotes overage$720
Quo (AI answers all 40 calls)Starter ($28, or $19 billed yearly) plus the 4,000-credit pack ($25)$44 to $53
Allo (AI answers all 40 calls)Business ($45, or $32 billed yearly) plus AI Receptionist ($32)$64 to $77

The AI figures cover only the cost of the tools. They do not say an AI agent will handle your calls as well as a person would. If your calls are high value, such as new-client inquiries, test any AI option yourself before relying on it. Rules about recording phone calls vary by state and country, so get advice before you record calls.

How to choose

Sources

All figures are from each vendor's public pricing pages, read on October 15, 2026:

Prices change often. If a figure here looks out of date, tell us and we will check it. See also how we review and our affiliate disclosure.